Homemade Eggs Benedict with Rocket

IMG_20150415_124414.jpgDuring the university mid semester break, every day feels like a lazy Sunday – especially with the beautiful sunny weather that seems endemic to the Sydney autumn. I felt like something different and special when I woke up today morning, and since we had ricotta hotcakes the day before, eggs benedict seemed to be the obvious choice.

There is nothing quite as refreshing as a glass of chilled orange juice (or any other juice you prefer!) with a filling breakfast such as this. I prefer to have my coffee or tea later so I can enjoy breakfast with cold juice, and rest assured that just one slice of toast will leave you quite full. (I should add here that my boyfriend ate two slices of toast with hollandaise and complained of feeling a little too full…)The hollandaise sauce is indeed filling, and has a lovely buttery, lemony flavour to it.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

For eggs benedict for two, you will need the following ingredients:

  • Bread. Whatever you like.
  • Poached eggs. We used two – you can go double that.
  • Rocket
  • Hollandaise sauce (recipe below)
  • Mushrooms or spinach if you wish.

The rocket adds a crunchy, peppery flavour to the creaminess of the runny yolk and hollandaise. In cafes they usually serve it on a bed of blanched spinach but I much prefer this method instead – it provides depth to the meal.

There are definitely two steps to this process so there will be two recipes today. For me, poached eggs have always been quite fussy in the kitchen and I’ve found that the best way to do them is the cling-film method which I found here.

Poached Eggs

Ingredients:

  • Eggs. Fresh or old, doesn’t matter
  • Cling film (they usually say to use a good brand. I used Homebrand and it was fine)
  • Oil, for greasing
  • Simmering water

Methods:

  • Fill a small saucepan with water and set to boil.
  • Cut a large square of cling film and spread it on the bench-top. Grease well.
  • Lay out the cling film over a small bowl or ramekin.
  • Crack the egg into this cling wrap. Don’t crack the eggs on the edge of the bowl, the egg shell might pierce the cling film – use a spoon.
  • Gather up the edges of the cling wrap twisting it and making sure that you have the egg enclosed well.
  • When the water is simmering, pop the egg in the cling film into the water carefully.
  • For a soft boiled yolk, poach for 4.5- 5 minutes if the eggs are cold from the fridge or 3.5-4 minutes if they are room temperature. Lift out of the water after this with a slotted spoon and un-twist the wrapper. Use the slotted spoon to lift and place the egg onto your toast.

There are many ways to make hollandaise sauce but I found a very easy blender recipe at Simply Recipes. If you don’t have a blender or a food processor, I suspect that you can use an electric mixer to do it, but I haven’t road-tested that alternatice as of yet.

Hollandaise Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne (optional). I used cracked pepper instead.
  • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter (if using salted butter, skip the added salt)

Method:

  1. Melt the butter slowly. Make sure not to let it burn, just leave it and stir it slowly over a low heat. It’s an easy job – I enlisted my boyfriend to do this.
  2. Meanwhile, pour the egg yolks, the lemon juice the salt if using it, and the pepper into a blender/food processor. Blend on medium/high till everything is blended thouroughly and the colour is a nice golden yellow.
  3. Drizzle the melted butter into the blender while it is on low. Blend for a minute or so again to make sure the butter is blended well into the sauce.
  4. Turn off the blender and unplug it and taste the sauce. It should taste very buttery and lemony. The main recipe says you can store for an hour but I suspect you can refrigerate it for three days. When ready to eat, just pour or drizzle it over!.

For the whole thing, I had my bread toasted well in the toaster while the eggs were being poached. I used the most basic white bread there is – but you can use basically anything you want. I buttered the toast well – you can also drizzle olive oil or avocado spread over it if  prefer – and I covered it with quite generously with rocket for a crunchy flavour. I placed the poached egg on top of it, and coated it in hollandaise sauce.

2 comments on “Homemade Eggs Benedict with Rocket

  1. That looks amazing… I have to try this again, I never seem to get the Hollandaise right, it’s always too liquid but yours looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

