Review: Stila Aqua Glow Watercolour Blush

With the heat of an Australian summer upon us, makeup becomes minimal yet bright enough to make an impact. For a blush that purports to be lightweight yet colourful and versatile for all makeup styles, the Stila Aqua Glow Watercolour Blush in rosewater is a strong contender. There are 5 shades in total in this range: rosewater (pale pink), poppy (red), water lily (rose pink), water blossom (pink violet) and shimmering lotus (goldy pink). Water lily is a darker and more pigmented version of rosewater. This blush layers very well so I opted for rosewater. On paler complexions, rosewater is certainly a nicer choice.

 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Rosewater comes as a mauve-y pink with some iridescent shimmer flecks in it. The shimmer doesn’t show u at all on my NC 35 medium skin with yellow undertones. The box says to shake it well before using it – the first time I did it the top of the lid got wet too. It has a mesh-like dispenser, on top of which the blush sits and as you get lower in the jar, you have to press your finger into it.

The blush feels lightweight – definitely non-sticky, like Benefit’s bene-tint. It’s actually less pigmented than it appears on your cheeks. Blending it in makes for a light wisp of colour, and it’s easily layered for a brighter pop of colour.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

On my skin it takes 2 layers to show up to the extent I like. I like putting it closer to where I would mix my bronzer, sweeping up to the temples. I found a brush rather useless with it and preferred instead to use my fingers. However the staying power on my oily skin in moderate to hot weather was rather low – about 5-6 hours, despite Stila’s claim that this is waterproof.

In Australia, Stila is available at Mecca Maxima for $39.00. It’s definitely a jump up from mid range blushes, but I can’t say that I have come across a liquid blush of this consistency. The only comparable products I have use are Benetint’s liquid cheek tints, and they have a better staying power and better pigmentation. But Stila’s concept is novel. It gives a cooling sensation to the cheeks, and the shimmer, while it doesn’t show up, reduces the flat and dull feeling I might have on my skin some days.

Price: $39.00
Colour range: 5 shades
Available from: Mecca Maxima
Size: 6.1 ml
Staying power: 5-6 hours.

 

 

 

2 comments on “Review: Stila Aqua Glow Watercolour Blush

Leave a Reply

