Review: Estee Lauder Daywear Sheer Tint

Now I’ve never really put much stock into protecting my skin from the sun, apart from days spent on the super-sunny beaches of Australia. I have been looking for a BB-cream for my oily acne-prone skin, however trying out Garnier or Maybelline seems to make me very oily! I came across this little sample bottle at Sephora Australia for $20 AUD the other day (whether Sephora Australia is a place of good value is a dubious statement, one which will be rest for discussion on another date) and decided to pick it up.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Estee Lauder’s Daywear Sheer Tint Release Advanced Multi-Protection Antioxidant Moisturiser SPF 15 is certainly a mouthful, so I’ll be calling it Daywear Sheer Tint on this post. It claims to be suitable for all skin types, and offer protection and sheer coverage like a beauty balm would do. However I found that the coverage for this lotion is probably more sheer than a beauty balm – a fact that I do like. It’s ridiculously easy to get it off without the aid of my micellar water and doesn’t cause me to break out.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

As for the application, well, it comes out of the tube looking like a greyish lotion with small brown granules – as you blend it in, these break and release colour. While it does say it’s good for all complexion types and tones, I’ve read some reviews which suggest that it will definitely add some browner colour to more paler complexions. For my NC-35 skintone, it sits perfectly with my complexion. I suspect with a light tan you’ll be fine – it’s very sheer.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Would I repurchase? Probably not. The price point is too steep for me to rebuy, and I only ever rebuy more staple products such as my Babylips lip balms. I think  I saw the full size at Sephora for $50 AUD (and at David Jones for $68!!) which is way too much for something I’ll be using for the hot and short summer season anyways – when I’m only going out. I actually rarely wear foundation and am more comfortable wearing Essano Rosehip Moisturiser as opposed to a tinted one like Daywear Sheertint. But if you’re after something that has the good properties of sun protection and antioxidants, and don’t mind the rather high pricepoint then you should get this.

Especially because of the delicious cucumber scent!

 

Leave a Reply

