Sukin Hydrating Mist Toner vs. Trilogy Hydrating Mist Toner

My attitude to toners in a skincare routine last year could be summed up in my boyfriend’s words: ‘well…if you say so.’ I had heard of them, but didn’t feel a huge need to use them; I had heard about how a lot of toners seemed to leave your skin dry and tight. While I have oily skin, I still didn’t want that dry, tight feeling on my face. Fast forward a year and I’ve tried out a couple of toners. For a lazy girl such as myself, mist toners in particular have really been my saving grace, and I can really tell the difference when I use a moisturiser after toning!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The Sukin Hydrating Mist Toner you may have seen while visiting your local Priceline. It retails for only $9.99 at their store, making it fairly affordable. The 125 ml spray bottle has lasted me about 6 months, and owing to Priceline’s frequent sales, you can easily pick it up for less.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The spray bottle is a lightweight plastic bottle leaving you in no fear of children breaking it or you breaking it. The nozzle could do with a bit of work as the mist is not that fine but honestly, it hardly bothers me. Using it on slightly damp skin after cleansing gives you a slight cooling effect. I light to spray it on my face, wait a minute or two, then use a cotton ball to wipe it over and off my face. As a toner it does what it does and isn’t drying in the least. It does claim to be really hydrating, which I didn’t particularly feel; on particularly dry days I’ve felt no more or less hydration than I usually would feel. They recommend you spritz your face with this to cool yourself, yet I wouldn’t use this without moisturiser because if you let it sit and dry, your face dries out a little too. For it’s price, its good at what it does; but don’t rely on this only for hydration, and certainly apply moisturiser on a face slightly damp with the toner.

Trilogy on the other hand, retails at Priceline for $26.99 for 100 ml of product (I picked it up on a 20% sale + my Priceline Sisterclub voucher). Trilogy has less frequent sales but if you’re lucky you can pick it up on their famous 40% skincare sales. I’ve noticed when they have a sale, it’s the Trilogy toners which are sold out and out of stock the quickest, proving my point that is definitely great.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

 

 

 

Going beyond the price, Trilogy comes in a dark frosted glass bottle and is for all skin types like Sukin. It’s kind of heavy, which I don’t like especially in my bathroom and with a clumsy boyfriend around and I’m worried that it might slip out of my damp hands or off the basin. The spray is a much finer mist and has a rosewater scent that the Sukin one doesn’t have. Yet I don’t notice THAT much of a difference between this and Sukin. If you’re a really big fan of scents then you can get this one; I like it but only enough to buy Trilogy on sale. I think I found that the finer mist of Trilogy meant that it absorbed better into my skin rather than having big droplets sitting on the surface. Yet I would still buy Trilogy on sale; leaving Sukin to take over when I run out of Trilogy as the difference between the two is negligible.

 

Leave a Reply

