Review: Adore Daily Planner 2016

As a busy student and a novice blogger with some other commitments on the side, a decent daily planner is essential. After lusting after Erin Condren planners and Simplified planners, but distressed over the fact that these had American holidays and were also fairly unavailable in Australia, I picked out the Adore Daily Planner 2016 as an alternative, designed by Adore Home Magazine. Read on to find out how it seamlessly incorporates itself into my daily routine: not very hardy, but therapeutic, cute and absolutely instagrammable.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

For someone in Australia, this planner includes all the Australian holidays, start of school terms and important dates – furthermore being an essential tool for a university student. The planner comes in two styles – mint polkadots, and pale pink triangles. I own the mint one and it looks beautiful on my desk.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It starts of with a ‘yearly goals’ section, followed by pastel coloured tabs giving you an overview of the whole month. This in particular is my go-to for planning out my weeks and months, and I love using pens of different colours to input committments, driving lessons and dates. The ‘notes’ section on the side is for things I need to or want to remember to do that month. Honestly, I’m not much of a ‘yearly goals’ person as I use a little bullet journal to keep track of my subject marks and goal marks, but Ii could see someone more goal oriented than I to use that.

The days of the month come divided in little hourly sections – great for inputting my study plans for that week! To-do and notes on the side are a great help too. On Saturdays and Sundays it’s divided into ‘am’and ‘pm’ times – I’ve got mixed feelings. I like my lazy weekend mornings with little scheduled there, but perhaps I would want to schedule in some subject studies there, and I can’t exactly do that as thoroughly as I’d like to.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

One big thing that I miss with this planner is the lack of an ‘expenses’ section at the end of each week. I’m sure a lot of students budget and keep track of their spending. At the moment I just cram it into ‘Sunday’; hopefully that will change for next year’s edition. The other thing was the lack of a meal planning section. It’s tough to think of a new meal every two days (leftovers are stock-standard for your average student…) and Ii’d like something that motivated me to move out of the bog of pasta-fried rice-leftovers every week.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It’s the construction of the diary that could be improved. I ordered mine from Temple and Webster as they had a discount price for members. The diary’s cover came to me a little warped, and the sticker on the back left a really stubborn residue that I was unable to get off. The binding is also weak and needs improvement. As a student, I’d like to be able to chuck my planner in a tote bag without worry, and honestly, the binding doesn’t allow for that with this planner.

This planner, for a ‘designer’ planner, is fairly cheap – I believe I bought mine from Temple and Webster for $59? A good planner is an investment, and it’s a small price to pay for having your whole schedule-able life neatly jotted in one book. Despite the construction shortcomings of this, it’s a chic and fashionable colour (did anyone say Pantone-colour-of-the-year?), and it looks great on your desk. I have to say though that I am enjoying spending time with my planner, sketching out my days: it’s almost therapeutic. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail – and this is one of the chic, and blogger-approved ways to do it.

One comment on “Review: Adore Daily Planner 2016

Leave a Reply

