5 Easy Strobing Highlighters For The Busy Girl

THE HIGHLIGHTER EDIT

As part of my very first series, I’m pleased to bring a guide to highlighters: The Busy Girl Edition.

My readership is diverse, like my posts: they range from recipe blogs, to makeup, and lifestyle bloggers. A busy bunch of people …fo’ sho’. As a busy girl, I want to know what’s quick and easy yet fulfils my style quota, and I thought a highlighter edit was a good place to start. After a long day of class, if I’m going out for a date night, highlighting my cheekbones is the best makeup tip to rid myself of a tired or sleepy look. It’s important for me to know that I can use these products without robbing myself for an extra 10 minutes of sleep, and I can come home, dot these on, and rush out for social commitments. These five highlighters are the highlight..pun intended..of my makeup tricks.

PS: I got so carried away taking photos of the beautiful shimmer brick and Mary-loumanizer that I didn’t take any single shots of the liquid highlighters. I did however, take a photo of them on my skin…

  1. Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Rose ($72.00 at Mecca Maxima)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

What busy girl’s highlighter guide would be complete without a highlighter-and-blush rolled into one? Try Bobbi Brown’s famous Shimmer Brick in Rose. Grab a smaller blush brush, or kabuki brush to swipe over the multi-toned palette and swipe upwards, starting from apples (I start from just below my apples as my face is round) to the temples. Then use your finger to swipe the lightest shade at the browbone, or your lid even and inner corner for a quick put together look. If you’re after a more bronzey I-spend-my-days-by-the-pool vibe, try the Shimmer Brick in Bronze. This is my all-time favourite palette and I use it every day since I received it. This is available from my favourite beauty store, Mecca Maxima for $72.00. It’s quick and easy, and it dispenses with the need for blush for casual events, and creates such a healthy shimmery glow.

2. Mary-Loumanizer Highlighting Powder ($37.00 at ASOS)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Next up is the famous Mary-Loumanizer powder Highlighter by The Balm. The pinup-perfect packaging caught my attention initially on the ASOS website, but the product itself is a dream. The powder is so finely milled that it is simply a glow, and won’t turn you into a disco ball that can be seen from the new ninth planet! I literally use my Urban Decay eyeshadow brush or a finger to touch it over my cheekbones and browbone – it takes a minute at the most. It’s warmer and golden-toned yet it’s not yellow/bronzey enough to be unsuitable for those of you with fairer pink based complexions. Great gift idea, anybody? You can get this product at ASOS here for $37.00 and free shipping, or at David Jones in Australia at a sale price of $29.95. (the product isn’t on the site, but I did see it in store!)

2.  Benefit High Beam Liquid Highlighter ($45.00 at Myer and Sephora)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Right: sunbeam, middle: high beam, right: mary-loumanizer

Benefit’s High Beam highlighter is a great option for folks on the cooler end of the complexion range. The company calls it ‘supermodel-in-a-bottle’ affectionately for its ability to really bring forward your cheekbones. This is definitely for cooler tones. As you can see in the picture below, on my medium/dark skin it’s more silvery and doesn’t quite match the undertone of my complexion, nevertheless I still use it for brow bone highlighting. Benefit liquid products are notorious for drying very quickly, so dot it over your cheekbone or browbone quickly, then blend-blend-blend with your finger. You can buy this in Australia from Myer here at $45.00 for the full size (mine came in a mini gift set), or at Sephora for $45.00 here.

4. Benefit Sunbeam Liquid Highlighter

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Another favourite of mine is the golden-based Sunbeam highlighter by Benefit.It’s more of a dirty blonde colour and shows up beautifully on warmer and darker skin tones. Application is the same as Highbeam, and the resulting glow runs a little darker and deeper than the Mary-Loumanizer. A better fit for the warmer-toned people. This is available at Sephora for $45.00, and at Myer for $45.00. Aagain, the technique is: dot-and-blend.

5. Nudestix Sheer and Magnetic Eye Pencils and Nudestixs Bronzing Pencils ($31.00 at sephora)

nudestixnudestix magnetic

Now, I don’t own this, but as a burgeoning beauty company who claim to be The Makeup Lord for Busy Girls, the Nudestix Sheer and Magnetic Eye Pencils, and their Bronzing Pencils deserve a mention. Try Magnetic Eye Pencil in Angel, Twilight and Gilt as an all over the lid wash of shine, or over your cheekbones and blend with your fingertips – easy. Also try Sheer Eye colour in Burnished – great for the warm-toned folks. I know this because I have tried in stores. You can buy these at Sephora in Australia here for $31.00. Here’s a link to their tumblr – the mother-and sisters team is so cute! Aalso have a look at Karen’s review on Makeup and Beauty Blog: love her witty reviewing style here.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

If you want something that goes with any skintone, or if your complexion is prone to change due to a change in season, go with the Mary-Loumanizer, or the Bobbi Brown Shimmer brick. Both products’ power formulas are finely milled and contain both warm and cool glitter particles to reflect light appropriately on your complexion.

Get your glow on!

 

Leave a Reply

